Trading Psychology

Public discussion of the methodology

Moderators: ted, mmaxwell

Trader Question

Trading Psychology

Post by Trader Question »

Delighted I renewed my sub to the institute. The Mogs are excellent - well worth while, mind you it helps having some clarity to start with :-) (which I think I do now). Actually the talking to self series where valuable - The early ones nudged me in the right direction with my trading plan (actually those could have been called less is more).

I have been trading the DAX with a simulator for a few months now (gave up losing real money ages ago) and am quite encouraged. I have decided to focus on the hourly using 2000 tick / 15 minute for entries. Daily and weekly give good context. DAX seems to dance to P&L's tune quite well (I know that should be the other way round but this is how it feels sometimes). This may sound like rather a close view but the DAX moves more in an hour than the S&P does in a day (maybe a week) and that seems to fit my trading personality.

OK time to come clean I have a small 3 minute chart in the corner of my screen too! it seems to help me finesse the entries though I may be deluding myself. Of course this can 'drag your focus down' too.

I'm pretty sold on the 'official' P&L stop method as I see time and time again a level tested from the other side after breaking - I do wonder if it will be quite so comfortable with real money on the line.